Brathwaite debuts for Sunrisers; KKR asked to chase in crucial game


Play 03:51

Agarkar: Curran over Searles for KKR

In their final league game, Sunrisers Hyderabad captain Kane Williamson chose to bat first at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium against Kolkata Knight Riders. In a game KKR had to win to ensure qualification for the playoffs, captain Dinesh Karthik said he would have batted first as well had he won the toss.

With Royal Challengers Bangalore knocked out of contention, four teams vied for two playoffs spots. Ahead of the game against Sunrisers, KKR was tied with Rajasthan Royals on points, but ahead on net run-rate. Mumbai Indians and Kings XI Punjab were two points behind KKR with one game each to play.

KKR brought back legspinner Piyush Chawla for fast bowler Shivam Mavi. “It (pitch) will turn a little bit,” Karthik said at the toss. “The old Kolkata wicket.”

Sunrisers, coming off two straight losses, made three changes: bringing in Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yusuf Pathan and Carlos Brathwaite for his franchise debut. Alex Hales, Deepak Hooda and Basil Thampi were left out.

Sunrisers Hyderabad: 1 Shikhar Dhawan, 2 Kane Williamson (capt), 3 Manish Pandey, 4 Deepak Hooda, 5 Shakib Al Hasan, 6 Carlos Brathwaite, 7 Shreevats Goswami (wk), 8 Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 9 Rashid Khan, 10 Sandeep Sharma, 11 Siddarth Kaul

Kolkata Knight Riders: 1 Chris Lynn, 2 Sunil Narine, 3 Robin Uthappa, 4 Nitish Rana, 5 Dinesh Karthik (capt & wk), 6 Andre Russell, 7 Shubman Gill, 8 Piyush Chawla, 9 Javon Searles, 10 Kuldeep Yadav, 11 Prasidh Krishna

Nikhil Kalro is a sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Let’s block ads! (Why?)

Cricket news from ESPN

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *