Sam Curran makes debut as England hunt 5-0; Australia recall D'Arcy Short

Australia won the toss and decided to bat against England
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Australia’s captain Tim Paine won the toss for the fifth match in a row and chose to bat first against England in the final ODI at Old Trafford.

Seeking a 5-0 sweep of Australia for the first time in the history of ODI encounters between the two nations (they won 3-0 in 1997 and 4-0 in 2012), England handed a debut to Sam Curran, with his cap presented before play by James Anderson. Liam Plunkett and Jake Ball were also included, for the injured Craig Overton (side strain) and the rested Mark Wood and David Willey.

The Australians omitted Kane Richardson and Michael Neser for D’Arcy Short, this time in a middle order role, and Kane Richardson as they chase some sign of improvement after England’s domination of the series thus far. Glenn Maxwell remained unavailable due to a shoulder problem.

On a fine day in Manchester, the pitch looks flat, hard and brimful of runs.

England 1 Jason Roy, 2 Jonny Bairstow, 3 Alex Hales, 4 Joe Root, 5 Eoin Morgan (capt), 6 Jos Buttler (wk), 7 Moeen Ali, 8 Sam Curran, 9 Liam Plunkett, 10 Adil Rashid, 11 Jake Ball

Australia 1 Aaron Finch, 2 Travis Head, 3 Shaun Marsh, 4 Marcus Stoinis, 5 D’Arcy Short, 6 Alex Carey, 7 Tim Paine (capt & wk), 8 Ashton Agar, 9 Kane Richardson, 10 Nathan Lyon, 11 Billy Stanlake.

Let’s block ads! (Why?)

Cricket news from ESPN

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *