Zimbabwe bat against Australia, Jack Wildermuth and Brandon Mavuta debut


Toss: Zimbabwe chose to bat v Australia

© Getty Images

Zimbabwe have opted to bat first in the dead-rubber clash in Harare. In bitterly cold conditions, Hamilton Masakadza decided the hosts would set a target for the first time this series. They made two changes for their final match this series, with Donald Tiripano and debutant legspinner Brandon Mavuta coming into the side, replacing Chris Mpofu and Tendai Chisoro.

Aaron Finch said he would have fielded first anyway in what his Australia’s last game before the final against Pakistan on Sunday. They made just one change from the side that lost to Pakistan on Thursday, opener D’Arcy Short dropping out, with the allrounder Jack Wildermuth taking his place and earning his first international cap.

Zimbabwe: 1 Solomon Mire, 2 Cephas Zhuwao, 3 Hamilton Masakadza (capt), 4 Tarisai Musakanda, 5 Peter Moor (wk), 6 Elton Chigumbura, 7 Malcolm Waller, 8 Donald Tiripano, 9 Brandon Mavuta, 10 Wellington Masakadza, 11 Blessing Muzarabani

Australia: 1 Aaron Finch (capt), 2 Alex Carey (wk), 3 Travis Head, 4 Glenn Maxwell, 5 Nic Maddinson, 6 Marcus Stoinis, 7 Jack Wildermuth, 8 Ashton Agar, 9 Andrew Tye, 10 Jhye Richardson, 11 Billy Stanlake

Danyal Rasool is a sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo. @Danny61000

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Let’s block ads! (Why?)

Cricket news from ESPN

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *